Luma Dream Machine Free Plan 2026: Watermark, Lite, and Clean Export

By AI Tool Center Editorial · Published 2026-08-25 · Last verified 2026-08-25

Disclosure: This site currently has no affiliate relationships. Outbound links earn us nothing. If that ever changes, affected links will be marked and this line updated.

Luma’s published policy makes one distinction unusually clear: paying for Lite does not turn a Free-style draft into a clean export. Its current User Rights & Licensing guide says Free and Lite generations are personal-use only, include a watermark, and keep that watermark even if you later upgrade. The first documented clean-export tier is Plus, which Luma’s Payments & Subscriptions guide lists at $29.99 per month for web. We checked those guides on August 25, 2026, but did not create an account or inspect a downloaded file; every export conclusion here is vendor-reported.

The Short Answer

  • Luma Dream Machine — Luma documents Free and Lite output as watermarked and personal-use only, even after an upgrade; Plus starts at $29.99/month with no watermark and commercial rights, vendor-reported.
Tool Best for From Clean export from Free video/mo Free export
Luma Dream Machine Permanent Watermark Policy $9.99/mo $29.99/mo Not published Watermarked *

* Sourced from the vendor's own published docs (or other cited sources), not yet independently tested by us. See each tool's section for the citation.

Free and Lite Files Keep Their Watermark

Luma puts Free and Lite in the same licensing bucket. Both are restricted to personal use, and both include a watermark. More importantly for someone deciding whether to buy later, the licensing guide says that watermark cannot be removed after an upgrade. An older Free or Lite generation does not become a clean commercial asset merely because the account changes tier.

That is vendor documentation, not a pixel-level file inspection by this site. Until we run a documented Free export test, the verdict stays marked as reported on the comparison table.

Plus Is the First Documented Clean-Export Tier

The current plan guide lists Lite at $9.99/month, Plus at $29.99/month, and Unlimited at $94.99/month for web. The licensing guide assigns “commercial usage rights with no watermark” to Plus, Unlimited, and Enterprise, making Plus the first listed web plan for a newly generated clean export.

This is a plan-policy claim, not legal advice or a checkout quote. We intentionally do not record an annual price here: the current guide describes an annual discount but does not state the final annual checkout amount on the page we verified.

Luma Does Not Publish a Free Video Budget

Luma’s current plan guide says Free is for exploration with Photon images and Ray3.14 video draft resolution. It does not state a numeric monthly Free credit allocation. A free-seconds figure would therefore be invented, so the tool record leaves it as Not published.

Paid-plan math is more concrete. Luma lists 10,000 monthly credits for Plus, while its Dream Machine Credit System prices a five-second Ray3.14 720p SDR generation at 100 credits. At that one rate, the ceiling is 10,000 ÷ 100 = 100 clips, or 500 seconds. It is a budgeting calculation, not a guarantee: a different model, resolution, HDR mode, or tool changes the cost.

Permanent Watermark Policy

1. Luma Dream Machine — Permanent Watermark Policy

Luma’s practical warning is not simply that Free is watermarked. Lite is, too, and the vendor says neither plan’s existing watermark can be removed by a later upgrade. For new watermark-free, commercial-use generations, Plus is the first documented web tier at $29.99/month; that remains vendor-reported until this site inspects a downloaded file.

Pricing

From $9.99/mo. Free plan: Free plan exists, but Luma's current plan guide does not publish a numeric monthly credit allowance for it; Free output is personal-use only and watermarked.

  • Lite — $9.99/mo · 1 seat
  • Plus — $29.99/mo · 1 seat
  • Unlimited — $94.99/mo · 1 seat

These are the Dream Machine web prices in Luma's current Payments & Subscriptions guide. The same guide lists separate iOS prices; no annual-plan amount is recorded here because the guide does not state a final annual checkout price.

According to Luma Dream Machine's official pricing page, checked 2026-08-25.

Free-tier export Not tested yet

Reported (not verified by us): Watermarked — Luma's licensing page says Free and Lite output is watermarked and personal-use only — and the watermark 'cannot be removed, even if you later upgrade'. Luma licensing page . We'll replace this the moment we run our own export test.

Watermark-free from Plus ($29.99/mo) Vendor wording: “commercial usage rights with no watermark” (plan page)

Real video per month

Free tier: Not published (Luma's current plan guide describes Free access but does not publish a numeric monthly credit allowance, so a seconds figure cannot be computed — free-tier rate)

Plus: ~500s (10,000 monthly credits ÷ 100 credits per 5s Ray3.14 720p clip = 100 clips × 5s; heavier models cost more (Ray3 720p runs 320 credits per 5s, which gives 155s) — paid rate)

Credit rates checked 2026-08-25.

Pros

  • Rights in what you generate on eligible plans vest permanently, even if you later downgrade
  • Publishes a per-model credit table, including Ray3.14, so paid-plan video math is checkable

Skip it if

  • You assume the $9.99 Lite tier removes the watermark — it doesn't; clean export starts at Plus ($29.99/month)
  • You plan to upgrade later to clean old files — Luma's watermark is permanent once a file is generated
  • You need a free-video volume estimate — Luma's current plan guide does not publish a numeric Free credit allowance

Visit Luma Dream Machine

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Luma Dream Machine Free add a watermark?

Yes, according to Luma's User Rights & Licensing guide: Free and Lite generations include a watermark and are for personal use only. We have not generated and inspected a Free download ourselves, so this is a vendor-reported watermark verdict, not a firsthand export test.

Can I remove a Luma watermark by upgrading later?

Luma's licensing guide says the watermark on generations made under Free and Lite cannot be removed even if you later upgrade. That applies to those already-created generations; new generations made on an eligible plan have different terms.

What is Luma's cheapest listed watermark-free plan?

Luma's current Payments & Subscriptions guide lists Plus at $29.99 per month for web. Its licensing guide says Plus, Unlimited, and Enterprise output has commercial usage rights with no watermark. We have not inspected a Plus download ourselves.

How many free credits does Luma Dream Machine give?

Luma's current plan guide describes Free access, but does not publish a numeric monthly credit allowance for that tier. Its credit system says subscriptions have monthly allowances, but it does not supply a Free allocation. We therefore list Free video seconds as Not published rather than infer one.

How much video can Luma Plus generate?

Luma lists 10,000 monthly credits for Plus. Its current credit table prices a five-second Ray3.14 720p SDR generation at 100 credits, so that budget can fund up to 100 such clips, or 500 seconds, if every credit is used at that rate. Other models, resolutions, and modes cost differently.

How We Keep This Updated

We re-check pricing and re-run the free-tier export test on every tool in this list. Every change is logged here. Our full procedure is on the methodology page, and if anything above is wrong or out of date, tell us and we will re-check it.

  • 2026-08-25 — First published after checking Luma's current Payments & Subscriptions, User Rights & Licensing, and Dream Machine Credit System guides. Watermark status is vendor-reported; no Free or Plus file was downloaded by us.